Skip to main content

Delivering Healthcare to Remote Communities

Online: Friday, September 10th, 2021 | Time: 12:00-2:15pm ET / 9:00-11:15am PT

Innovative approaches for improving access, efficiency and quality in healthcare delivery

Despite continued advancements in the medical field, citizens living in remote communities still experience challenges in accessing adequate health care, as healthcare delivery to these sparsely populated communities poses significant financial, logistical, technical, and human resource challenges. Along with often limited and dispersed resources, remote communities also have difficulty attracting and retaining health professionals. 

However, advances in digital healthcare technologies, in the form of telehealth services, electronic medical records, artificial intelligence, VR/ARhealth trackers, wearables, and sensors is overcoming many of the historic challenges and enabling the delivery of sophisticated health care to these difficult to reach communities 

But while virtual care offers an unparalleled opportunity to deliver real change addressing the challenges of healthcare to remote communities, it still poses some technical and practical problems for healthcare providers. To address these issues, the Public Sector’s Network’s Delivering Healthcare to Remote Communities Virtual Event will provide attendees with key insights into developments, strategies, and processes to redress these disparities using the latest technologies. 

View Agenda

Your Expert Speakers

Dr. Ivar Mendez
Unified Department Head for Surgery, Saskatchewan Health Authority
Fred H. Wigmore Professor, Department of Surgery
University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Jonathan Choy
Provincial Medical Director – Virtual Health, Alberta Health Services, Associate Dean, Clinical Faculty, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry, University of Alberta and Board Member
Digital Health Canada

Dr. Terri Aldred
Medical Director, Primary Care
First Nation Health Authority

Kelly Gunn
Vice President Primary and Community Care and Clinical Programs and Chief Nursing Executive
Northern Health – BC

Megan Hunt
Executive Director, Primary Healthcare and eHealth
First Nation Health Authority

Lisa Saffarek Headshot

Lisa Saffarek
Director, Virtual Care Services
Island Health – Vancouver Island Health Authority

Dr. Katharine Smart
President
Canadian Medical Association

Key Takeaways

A must-attend event for public sector organisations looking to:

Get up to speed with the latest developments in digital healthcare technologies and how they can revolutionize the delivery of healthcare to remote communities 

Learn from your peers and benchmark your approaches for effectively using telehealth solutions and electronic medical records to improve patient care 

Take home practical skills and tools to best leverage evolving healthcare technology in order to better transform your delivery models 

Agenda

9:00 AM PT & 12:00pm ET
Welcome from PSN
9:05 AM PT & 12:05pm ET
Chair Opening: Providing health care services across geographic, time, social and cultural barriers
9:15 AM PT & 12:15pm ET
Keynote Session: Remote Presence and Virtual Care for the Provision of Healthcare to Remote Communities
9:30 AM PT & 12:30pm ET
CMA Keynote Session: Enabling and Expanding the Implementation of Virtual Care in Canada
9:45 AM PT & 12:45 PM ET
Platinum Keynote: The Evolution of Health Tech and its Role in Serving Remote Communities
10:00 AM PT & 1:00 PM ET
Government Case Study: How Telemedicine is Improving Access to Care
10:15 AM PT & 1:15 PM ET
Break
10:20 AM PT & 1:20PM PT
Government Case Study: Establishing a Virtually Enabled Primary and Community Service during the COVID 19 Pandemic and Beyond
10:35 AM PT & 1:35 PM ET
Gold Spotlight: Role of Connected Health Devices and Remote Patient Monitoring
10:50 AM PT & 1:50 PM ET
Panel Discussion: Incorporating healthcare technology to improve patient care and outcomes in remote communities: Technology infrastructure, resources, and support
11:20 AM PT & 2:20 PM ET
Closing Remarks from the Chair & End of session

Registration

What's included in your registration:

Virtual Presentations

Hear from public sector leaders about the latest trends and exploring how to instantly apply these insights and gaining unique perspectives

Interactivity

An opportunity to engage with the inspiring speaker panel and peers in the live Q&A and polling to discover answers to shared challenges

Leading Technology Solutions

Hear  from solutions providers in the government space as they explore key technologies to improve citizen services

On-Demand

Receive on-demand access to session content after the conference on the complimentary Public Sector Network social learning platform

Complimentary for public sector employees only *

Register Now

Event Partners

Bronze Partner

Interested in sponsoring an event? Contact Scott Knight by email (scott@publicsectornetwork.com)

Become a Partner

Join Our Network of Public Sector Professionals

Public Sector Network is a social learning platform that exists to help government around the globe break down silos, collaborate, and work together for better outcomes for citizens.

Our growing community spans all tiers of government and public services, and allows members to network, benchmark and share best practice on a secure and members-only community.

Sign up for free